Laboratory Staff Committee

The Laboratory Staff Committee (LSC) advises the Laboratory Director and Deputy Director for Research on matters concerning Laboratory-wide consistency in the quality of the scientific staff and on divisional procedures for selection and appointment. In their charge, the LSC reviews hire, promotion and reduction in staff for Senior Scientist and Senior Faculty appointments. Following detailed review of these cases, the LSC will make recommendations to the Deputy Lab Director for Research and Lab Director.

See additional information on how Laboratory Staff Committee members are appointed in the Appointments, Scientist & Engineer Policy.

LSC Chair

Roderick Clark

LSC Co-chair

Frances Houle

Accelerator Technologies & Applied Physics

Thomas Schenkel

Advanced Light Source

Eli Rotenburg

Biological Systems & Engineering

Aindrila Mukhopadhyay

Building Technology & Urban Systems

Tianzhen Hong

Chemical Sciences

John Gibson

Climate & Ecosystem Sciences

Bill Riley

Computational Research

Xiaoye (Sherry) Li

Energy Analysis Environmental Impacts

Hugo Destaillats

Energy Geosciences

Carl Steefel

Energy Storage & Distributed Resources

Marca Doeff


Soren Prestemon

Environment Genomics & Systems Biology

Henrik Scheller

Joint Genome Institute

Tanja Woyke

Material Sciences

Peter Fischer

Molecular Biophysics & Integrated Bioimaging

Nicholas Sauter

Molecular Foundry

Jeffrey Urban

National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center

Wahid Bhimji

Nuclear Science

Grazyna Odyniec

Physics Division

Christian Bauer


Sol Omolayo


Daniela Leitner

Lab Staff Committee Appointment Dates

Active Lab Staff Committee Roster